Frequently asked questions

How do I download the Collette Talk App?

iPhones and iPads
Go to the App Store on your phone or iPad and search for Collette Talk App.
Download the app for free.

Android Phones
Go to the Google Play Store on your phone and search for Collette Talk App.
Download the app for free.

I downloaded the App and it is asking me for an account and PIN number. Where do I find these things?

Go to collette.wirelesstraveler.com and enter your details to create an account and add funds.

How do I buy an account for my friends or family?

Go to collette.wirelesstraveler.com and enter the details of your friends and family and select the amount of funds you would like to add to their app account.

How do I make calls to the USA and Canada while abroad?

Always call as if you are in the USA. To call to the USA or Canada dial 1 for the country code and then the area code and telephone number. ie.1 555-700-3883

How do I make calls abroad or locally in another country?

TO CALL ANY COUNTRY OTHER THAN THE USA YOU MUST ALWAYS FIRST DIAL 011 FOLLOWED BY THE COUNTRY CODE. For example to call to a number in the UK, dial 011 44 ignore the first "0" of the local number and then enter the rest of the telephone number. So the number 0207 924 8622 is dialed 011 44 207 924 8622 . To dial the number in Australia 0198 657 8906 would be dialed 011 61 198 657 8906 . EXCEPTION: Only when calling ITALY you include the first 0 of the local number i.e. To dial the number in Italy 0125 743 499 is dialed 011 39 0125 743 499

Can I use my own account to buy apps for friends and family?

Yes, you can login as an existing app customer and select the amount of funds that you would like to gift. Forward the account and PIN number to enter into their device after downloading the app.

My app says invalid login

If you have entered the wrong account or PIN number you will see invalid login or unregistered displayed on the app dial page. Click on the Account icon at the bottom of the app and reenter your account number and PIN and press Save or Done

My App says registering

If you do not have a strong Wi-Fi connection, or you are in a location where the network does not allow Wi-Fi calling (some cruise ships and airplanes) you will see this message displayed. Try to reopen the App in a different location.

Should I turn off cellular data or data roaming when traveling and using the app?

It is highly recommended that you turn off all cellular data roaming when traveling while using the app, as the app uses data to make calls and your network carrier will charge you for data roaming, which can be substantial.

The person I am calling cannot hear me

If you have an iPhone be sure your microphone is turned on. Go to your regular Settings icon on your iPhone. Select Privacy. Select Microphone. Switch on Collette Talk (should be green)

What are the benefits of the Collette Talk App?

  • Allows travelers to make calls via Wi-Fi to any phone from over 195 countries for as low as just $0.02 per minute... or enjoy free calling app-to-app.
  • Available free from iTunes or Google Play app stores.
  • Compatible with iPhone 4S, 5, 5S, 5C, 6, 6 Plus, 7 and 7 Plus as well as iPad, iPad mini & Android phones.
  • Preprogrammed with Collette Talk speed dial.
  • Have friends and family download the app to connect for free from Europe.
  • As low as $0.02 a minute for all other calls.

How is the Collette Talk App better than other calling apps?

  1. Unlike other calling apps, you do NOT both have to be on Wi-Fi with the Collette Talk calling app. You can call to ANY phone, mobile phone or landline for as low as 2 cents per minute. App to app calling is FREE.
  2. The person you are calling does NOT have to have the Collette Talk App for you to call them from your app
  3. Less dropped calls with the Collette Talk App
  4. Ultra fast connection to the Wi-Fi network for making calls
  5. Call quality is the best on the market as the app uses dedicated voice line
  6. You have a US telephone number on the app that people can use to return your call
  7. Automatic recharge (optional) when you hit a low balance

Do I need a plan from my network provider to use the Wi-Fi App?

You do not need a plan from your carrier If you only want to make calls when you are connected to Wifi. The Collette Talk App works independently of your cellular network provider.

When I am not connected to a Wi-Fi network, what happens when people call my app number?

The phone call will be answered by the app voicemail system (which you can customize) You will be notified on your device that you have a voicemail and you can check it on the app.

How do I know what my account balance is?

Your balance and US number are displayed on the app each time you register on a Wi-Fi network

Should I leave the App open after making calls?

Communication Apps can use a significant amount of battery charge. It is recommended not to leave the app open for prolonged periods. We advise you to close the app after making calls to preserve battery power.

Is the App free?

Yes, the app is free to download. You need a minimum of $5 of funds on your account for making and receiving calls. The cost of the calls are decremented from your account balance. App to app calls are free.

How do I find out the cost of calls?

Click on Rates and enter the country you wish to call and click calculate rate. All Wi-Fi app calls to the USA from anywhere in the world are 2 cents per minute. (Calls to Canada are 3 cents/minute)

Does the App work on a ship or airplane?

Usually cruise ships and airplanes use satellite Wi-Fi and tend to block Wi-Fi calling apps.

Can I leave the calling app open on my Smart Phone?

You should always close the app when you are finished making phone calls as all apps drain the battery on your Smart Phone. Simply swipe out of the app on an iPhone and press the page/arrow back on an Android and you will be prompted to close the app.

Do I need my iTunes password for downloading the app?

Yes, like all apps your download from the iTunes store, you will need to enter your iTunes password to download the app initially and again if you inadvertantly delete the app from your iPhone.